Return to Headlines

Franklin Board named County Commissioners of the Year

The North Carolina School Boards Association honored Franklin County’s Board of County Commissioners during its November 19th Annual Conference in Greensboro.

Board members were named as the County Commissioners of the Year for 2019 in recognition of their service to the local community through outstanding support of public elementary and secondary education. This was the second such award for the commissioners.

Franklin County’s Board of County Commissioners has demonstrated leadership above and beyond the call-of-duty that continues to advance student achievement. The board’s focus on Franklin County Schools has been demonstrated individually and collectively through its collaboration with not only the Board of Education, the superintendent and associated personnel, but also through its work with local agencies and community groups from Louisburg, Bunn, Youngsville and Franklinton.

The Board of County Commissioners’ commitment to the achievement of the district’s students was most readily visible through its June 3 vote, which fully funded the district’s annual budget request. This year’s approval arrived at a particularly critical time for the district and helped ensure the future progress of Franklin County Schools.

The request reflected a significant increase of $3.4 million. About $2 million of that increase is funding an increase for 429 classified employees, including teacher assistants, cafeteria workers, administrative support, maintenance, transportation and other support staff who haven’t seen a pay adjustment in about 15 years. The budget also included an adjustment to the assistant principal salary schedule, as well as the implementation of the “Choose FMS” differentiated pay pilot program and funding to address the district’s increased operational costs.  

During the months leading up to the vote, the County Commission worked tirelessly, attending multiple meetings with the Board of Education and Franklin County Schools personnel to gain a full understanding of the needs of the district’s eight elementary, four middle and four high schools. The Commissioners’ approval of the budget and commitment to the negotiation process sent a vital message to the residents of Franklin County that they want the best for their children.


A group of 11 adults dressed well posing for a group photo

From left to right: FCS Superintendent Rhonda Schuhler, Tommy Piper (BOE), Dr. Elizabeth Keith (BOE), Bernard Hall (BOE Vice Chair), Sidney Dunston (BOC Chair), Mark Speed (BOC), Paige Sayles (BOE Chair), Meghan Jordan (BOE), Rosemary Champion (BOE), Cedric Jones (BOC), and Debra Brodie (BOE).